The Shakespeare Express

The Shakespeare Express heralds the start of the 2021 steam season for Vintage Trains. It runs on four summer Saturdays and nine summer Sundays presenting its well-proven formula of blossoming Warwickshire scenery through the window and great value Saturday evening dinner, Sunday lunch and afternoon tea options on your table.

On Saturdays, the journey in both directions will be over the Shakespeare Line, but on Sundays, the train will run from Stratford to Birmingham at express speeds up to 75mph via Solihull non-stop to Tyseley (so not stopping at Henley in Arden, although a return trip from Henley may still be made).

Two return journeys will operate each day:

Saturdays afternoon and evening with round trips only from Birmingham Snow Hill or Tyseley

Sundays: morning and afternoon. Travel options: (a) outward from Birmingham or Tyseley in the morning for sightseeing in the Stratford area, returning in the late afternoon; or (b) on a round trip from Stratford to Birmingham and return in the afternoon.

Operating Dates

Saturday 17th July

Sunday 18th July

Saturday 24th July

Sunday 25th July

Sunday 1st August

Sunday 8th August

Saturday 14th August

Sunday 15th August

Saturday 21st August

Sunday 22nd August

Sunday 29th August

Sunday 5th September

Sunday 12th September

Free car parking is available at Tyseley Locomotive Works avoiding Birmingham’s congestion charge (limited availability and must be booked with your train tickets).

Steam locomotives will be drawn from a pool of Clun Castle and Earl of Mount Edgcumbe (subject to availability). In the event of hot weather, Network Rail may require a diesel locomotive additionally to be added to the train to mitigate fire risk.

All trains will carry Pullman, Club and Tourist accommodation. A restaurant car service is included in your Pullman fare with Full English breakfast, three course lunch, afternoon cream tea or four course dinner, depending on the time of day. Hot or cold dining options are available in Club and snacks and drinks are also available to preorder in Tourist. Details, including sample menus, are available when booking.

Full details and advance ticket bookings will be available later in April 2021